PROJECT: Re-Visualising pre-1539 St Mary’s Abbey, York- Part 7

I’m taking a slight break from modelling the main St Mary’s Abbey by re-creating the Hospitium, one of the buildings in the abbey grounds (York Museum Gardens, UK). According to the History of York site “It’s not known for sure what it was originally used for, the official listing of the building suggests that it was a place for visitors to stay”.

I recreated the basic structure of the current Hospitium form in Blender using plans obtained from the University of York and researched what it would have looked like pre-Dissolution alongside the abbey. It looks slightly different to today, with a smaller upper storey.

Here is a screenshot of my progress so far!

hospitium

and here my own winter photo of what the Hospitium looks like currently:

hospitium photoAs you can see I need to model what can be seen today as the two arches and research what these buildings would have been in the 15th century. I also need to research the upper doorway on the Hospitium- would this have led to another attached building or was this added at a much later date and should therefore be edited out of my model?

Once I finish this model I will then import into my main abbey model file!

Scribble here...

